WPC Canada Directors

Denis Painchaud


Denis Painchaud is the Director of International Government Relations for Nexen Energy ULC. Before joining Nexen in 2005, Denis held positions in a number of senior roles including Vice-President, Communications and Government Affairs with Aquila Networks Canada. In addition to his private sector experience, Denis served as Chief of Staff to the Minister of Economic […] read more →

Grant Zawalsky

2nd Vice Chairman

Mr. Zawalsky is the Managing Partner of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP (Barristers and Solicitors) where he has been a partner since 1994. Mr. Zawalsky holds a B.Comm and LL.B. from the University of Alberta and is a member of the Law Society of Alberta.  Mr. Zawalsky currently sits on the board of directors of […] read more →

Joanna Desjardins

Secretary Treasurer

Joanna has served on the WPC Canadian chapter since 2011. Recently, she chaired and marketed a successful Bid for Canada to host the 2013 4th WPC Youth Forum. As Chair of the WPC Youth Forum Organizing Committee, Joanna managed a team of volunteer professionals and directed the program, sponsorship, marketing and logistics. Joanna is the […] read more →

John D. Wright, P. Eng., CFA

Past Chairman

John D. Wright is President and Chief Executive Officer of Lightstream Resources Ltd., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd. (since 2000), and Chairman of the Board for Alvopetro Energy Ltd. He previously served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Pacalta Resources (1996-99); Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of […] read more →

Richard Masson


Richard Masson is CEO of the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission and brings over 25 years of leadership experience in oil sands development, energy marketing and finance to the role. Richard is leading Alberta’s commercial focus on activities to support the development of new crude oil infrastructure and markets. Richard’s previous experiences include: • Nexen: VP Risk […] read more →

Michael McGovern


Michael is a founding partner and Director of Business Development at Arcurve Inc., one of Calgary’s largest independent software development companies. Michael has more than 22 years’ in the energy and software industry and has expertise in business development, petroleum economics, portfolio management and decision analysis. Michael’s business experience is global, having conducted business in […] read more →

Brad Trumble MBA, CMA


Brad Trumble is a broadly experienced and educated senior level business consultant with Riata Partners specializing in operational success and leadership. A graduate of the International MBA program from Cornell and Queens University, and a CPA-CMA, Brad has spent several years as an active consultant offering insight into ownership transition, management changes, and future state […] read more →

James D. McFarland B.Sc., M.Sc., P. Eng


Jim McFarland has more than 43 years of domestic and international experience in the oil and gas industry, most recently as President, CEO and director of Valeura Energy Inc., an international oil and gas company listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange with operations in Turkey. Prior to co-founding Valeura in April 2010, he was President, […] read more →

Bryan Krol

Future Leaders Committee Chair

Bryan has served on the WPC Canadian chapter since 2011, formerly as Treasurer of the Future Leaders Committee and now as Future Leaders Committee Chair. Bryan assisted with the successful execution of the 4th WPC Youth Forum where he held the position of Team Lead for the student grant program. Bryan successfully developed and implemented the student […] read more →

Jennifer Steber


In August of 2013, Jennifer Steber joined the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) as the new Executive Vice President of Stakeholder and Government Relations. Prior to joining the AER, Ms. Steber had been with the Government of Alberta for nearly a quarter century holding a variety of senior positions, such as Chief Assistant Deputy Minister of […] read more →